CHRISTINA MONAHAN, FASHION PHOTOGRAPHER//RI,USA

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

PLEASE INTRODUCE YOURSELF TO OUR READERS!

Hello!

My name is Christina Monahan and I am an aspiring fashion photographer from the Ocean State. Like any Libra, I am a dreamer, and I see the world through rose-colored glasses. Photography has always been a way I can create “perfect realities” through my lens.

A quote that represents how I feel about photography is none other than, Annie Leibovitz.

“A thing that you see in my pictures is that I was not afraid to fall in love with these people.”

PLEASE TELL US ABOUT YOUR SENSE OF STYLE. Electric, I seek out too many different styles to just pick one. When I am not in my paint covered work clothes, I am usually rocking my favorite cowgirl boots and Boho chic sundress (in the summer). I am SO infatuated with using color in my art that I actually prefer to wear a lot of neutrals. P.S. Thrift shopping should be considered a religion.

WHAT IS ONE THING YOU WANT TO EXPERIMENT WITH WHEN IT COMES TO YOUR PERSONAL STYLE? Ha, this is a good question. I am constantly browsing fashion magazine websites and window shopping, as well as admiring strangers’ street style. I would love to get outside my comfort zone and try out some different looks, even if they are considered just a “trend”. As far as my personal style, I think “style” means so much more than just your wardrobe collection. A person’s style is their whole package, the way they carry themselves. 

WHAT ROLES DO SOCIAL MEDIA PLAY IN YOUR LIFE? Social media does play a pretty big role in my life, and it has its pros and cons. Having an outlet like Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest, or Tumblr is great in many ways. I use social media for inspiration, communication, and a platform to share my photographs with whoever wants to look at them. Being a little old fashioned, I am a firm believer that in-person networking will always be the best way to connect with a potential employer or customer. Finding a balance between online and real life presence is very important to any young entrepreneur.

WHO DO YOU CONSIDER TO BE THE MOST EMPOWERING INDIVIDUAL? In my personal life, I would have to say my mother. She really is a person who I will always turn to for advice, support, and approval. Neither of my parents went to college, so I was raised under the impression that hard work and drive will get you just as far as any college degree would. I do go to school, but it;s my drive and passion that keep me on the path of an “artist”. It is scary knowing the industry is cut throat, but it sure is thrilling! I really respect and admire anyone that is out there pursuing his or her wildest dreams; that’s empowerment. 

HOW DID YOU FIRST GET INTERESTED IN PHOTOGRAPHY? Hmm, I wish I could pin point what it was that initially sparked my interest in general photography. The only way I can describe it is this: When you are driving in your friends car around sunset and you catch the most amazing image with your own eyes, and you just want to freeze time. A camera is the closest we’ll get to freezing time like we do in our memory.

AT WHAT POINT DID YOU REALIZE THAT PHOTOGRAPHY IS WHAT YOU WANTED TO DO AS A CAREER? Well, I have been watching America’s Next Top Model since I was around the age of ten. From the first episode I completely fell in love with the whole concept of being on set during a photo shoot for the cover of some fashion magazine. When people ask me what I want to eventually be when I am older, I literally reference that show. I even used that fun fact on my MassArt college essay.

WHAT KIND OF CAMERA(S) DO YOU USE? Canon lover for life! The only other camera I have shot with was a Cadet monorail large format film camera. It was for my sophomore studio class at MassArt and it was an interesting experience. I do recommend shooting with a huge, bulky, old school camera at least once in your life-it will make you appreciate today’s readily available camera technology so much more.

WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE KIND OF PHOTOGRAPHY? A mix between fashion, editorial and commercial photography, but I can easily appreciate an image that doesn’t fall into one of those three categories. There are some photographers that create the most magnificent images, and inspire me to point my lens at something new.

YOUR NEWEST PROJECT WAS A COLLABORATION PROCESS. WHAT WAS IT LIKE TO BE WORKING WITH RUE LALA ASSISTANT STYLIST, SARAH MALOOF? Sarah had reached out to me asking if I would photograph for her portfolio which will help her land a full time spot at the Rue LaLa headquarters in Boston. Also, giving me an opportunity to have my photographs reviewed by lead stylist and photographers at Rue. Sarah graduated from MassArt at the top of her class in Fashion Design and landed an assistant stylist job at Rue within her first year graduating. That alone describes how talented and driven she is. I make it a point to surround myself with inspiring people, so I was thrilled to be working with her. Sarah found an amazing young model, Heather Doyle, from The Beauty Within Model Management. I met Heather that day not knowing what she even looked like, but was delighted to see her other work online after the shoot was over. The entire process boiled down to a 7 hour-long photo shoot that was literally a blast! Each one of us was doing what we love to do most and it felt effortless. Heather is so versatile and the camera absolutely loves her. The experience was a completely positive one, and I look forward to working with both of these talented girls again.

WHAT IS ONE QUESTION YOU WISH PEOPLE ASKED YOU MORE OFTEN? “What is your zodiac sign?”…Yeah, I went there.

LIKE WHAT YOU SEE? GET IN TOUCH WITH CHRISTINA HERE: 

  • Facebook Page: Christina Monahan Photography
  • Instagram: Christinaaa1020

 

 

Leave a comment